Certain roles in a team, which are assigned by the team's administrator (creator), can share hosts/groups of hosts, but without credentials, with other team members. When you share data, it appears on another teammate’s devices.
A team member can have one of three roles:
Editor: can edit, remove and add entities inside the shared groups. After you add an entity to a shared group, that entity becomes shared as well.💡 Editors can edit shared groups, but not remove them.
Member (the default role): cannot share data, or modify any shared data, except he/she can add credentials.
⚠ Usernames, passwords, keys and identities will not be shared. When sharing a host/group you share: tags, environment variables, startup snippets, proxy, identity used in proxy settings and host chains.
(The info below is intended for team administrators.)
There is no team without its members!
✔ So remember to add your teammates to the team as described here.
⚠ A team member will not see shared data, if he/she didn't accept the e-mail invitation or you didn't approve his/her access to team's shared data. (See step 5 here.)
To share a group in the desktop app, right-click a group and choose Share.
In the mobile apps:
(iOS) tap and hold the desired group, tap and Share.
(Android) tap and hold the desired group, tap and Share.
If you want to stop sharing a group, just choose Unshare, instead of Share.
When you share a group containing a host chain with hosts outside of that group, you’ll be asked to move them to that group manually or automatically. If you don't, the host chain will be unavailable for other team members.
💡 By moving the groups manually, you can achieve a mindful organisation inside a shared group. For example, you can create a ‘Bastions’ sub-group in the shared group and place your hosts in there.